Chip Saltsman’s CD: The Gift that Keeps on Giving?

Since I have endorsed Chip Saltsman for the RNC Chairman position, I thought it only appropriate to address the ongoing saga over the CD he gave committee members as a Christmas gift.  I’m not going to get into the arguments of why the title of the Barack song is shocking but yet the meaning of the song is believed to be the opposite, and I am not going to try to convince you why or why not you should be offended by it.  What I will state, however, is that Chip Saltsman should have avoided the “C” word. Controversy.  It is a word the Republican party does not need right now.

I do not want to be too hard on Saltsman since this seems to be the year of Republicans using controversial tactics concerning Barack Obama in order to win an election.  I am a conservative who would never vote for Obama but I became increasingly disgusted with the likes of Rush and Hannity throwing everything but the kitchen sink at him, I was unsettled by the tone the Palin rallies were taking, and I became frustrated with Republicans for not being able to focus on the issues.  All of these things drove undecided, swing, and independent voters right into Obama’s arms.  My advice to Saltsman would have been not to take a page out of el Rushbo’s playbook.

Even though Saltsman himself chose to be put in the middle of this controvery, I still believe his Plan for Republican Victory is best for the future of the GOP.  I would have thought that he ruined his chances for being the one to execute that plan, but then this article caught my eye today.  Politics are never predictable.

The controversy surrounding a comedy CD distributed by Republican National Committee chair candidate Chip Saltsman has not torpedoed his bid and might have inadvertently helped it.

Four days after news broke that the former Tennessee GOP chairman had sent a CD that included a song titled “Barack the Magic Negro” to the RNC members he is courting, some of those officials are rallying around the embattled Saltsman, with a few questioning whether the national media and his opponents are piling on.

Read the rest of the article here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

